We found no official statistics on monthly horse-keeping costs in Slovenia or Croatia. Six public livery (boarding) price lists or offers compared on 29 September 2026 (two Slovenian, four Croatian) gave €250–350 a month for basic livery and €465 and €500 for fuller packages; one posting, with €266 and €465, quotes prices without VAT, the others do not say. The farrier, vet, insurance and a reserve are separate budget lines. This is general information, not financial or veterinary advice.
What a month of keeping a horse is made of
DEFRA's code of practice (2017) lists livery, feed, bedding, stable and pasture, worming, vet fees, farriery and tack; the British Horse Society (BHS) adds insurance, teeth checks and saddle fitting. The table sorts the lines by what drives them and how to cut them (WHW is World Horse Welfare); UK amounts are in a separate section below.
| Cost line | How often | What drives it | How to cut it (source) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Livery | monthly | type of care, location, feed and bedding included or not | cheaper set-up, shared jobs (BHS) |
| Feed and bedding | ongoing, more in winter | the horse and its work, hay price, stable or field | forage-based diet without needless extras, joint orders (BHS) |
| Farrier | every few weeks | barefoot or shod, workload, farrier, travel | talk through options, keep regular visits (BHS, RSPCA) |
| Vet and worm control | yearly | vaccinations, yard rules, clinic or yard visit | shared visits, treatment guided by test results (BHS) |
| Teeth check | at least yearly (BHS) | age of the horse, dental problems | shared visits (BHS) |
| Insurance | monthly or yearly | age, use, value, level of cover | check what the policy covers, review it regularly (BHS, WHW) |
| Tack and repairs | occasional | wear, weather, fit | repair, second-hand except hats (BHS) |
| Emergency reserve | saved monthly | illness or injury | monthly fund, clear plan (BHS, WHW) |
One-off costs are covered in How much does a horse cost, and the decision checklist in What you need before buying your first horse.
Livery: where the horse lives
DEFRA says livery costs vary significantly by type. The BHS distinguishes four common set-ups: with full livery yard staff do the daily work such as feeding, mucking out and turnout; with part livery you share the tasks with the yard; with DIY livery you rent the stable and grazing and do everything else yourself; with grass livery the horse lives in a field all year round. The BHS says prices depend on location, facilities and support (an arena, year-round turnout, hay and bedding included or not, extras) and advises asking what is included and what costs extra.
We found no official statistics on livery prices in Slovenia or Croatia. To show a range, on 29 September 2026 we took, from the yard pages we checked, six publicly posted price lists or offers that state a monthly livery price (two Slovenian, four Croatian); we do not name the yards. It is a sample of six postings, not a market survey or a recommendation.
| Package | In the sample (€ a month) | Postings | What the postings say |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic livery | 250–350 (€266 is without VAT) | 6 (2 SI, 4 HR) | in most postings: box or outdoor box, feeding, cleaning, turnout; price often "by agreement" |
| Fuller package | €465 (without VAT) and €500 (VAT not stated) | 2 (HR) | indoor box, arenas and extra facilities, or club membership (the €465) |
| Package with endurance training | 800 (VAT not stated) | 1 (HR; one of the six yards) | training, preparation for endurance competitions and basic feed |
Only one posting states its VAT basis: its prices (including the €266 and €465 in the sample) are without VAT, and it charges hay, straw and shavings from a separate price list. Another says vet costs are not included. The remaining postings do not say whether VAT is included. One yard's two pages give different amounts (€300 and €350), so we took a range. A May 2025 article on a Ljubljana riding centre's website puts a month of boarding at €420–550; it is not a price list, so it is not in the sample. Get the price in writing, stating whether VAT is included, with the extras and the terms for changing it.
Forage, bedding and winter
If feed and bedding are not in the livery price, you pay for them separately. The BHS says hay and haylage prices vary with availability and the summer weather. How much forage a horse needs depends on the horse and its work, so we give no amounts (see What do horses eat), nor hay or straw prices for Slovenia or Croatia; ask the yard or supplier for a price per bale or tonne, in writing, stating whether VAT is included.
World Horse Welfare says care costs rise in winter and advises allowing for this if you take a horse on in summer; the RSPCA also mentions higher winter costs. To lower the bill the BHS points to a diet based on good-quality forage with a vitamin and mineral balancer (especially for horses in light work or carrying excess weight). Straw is often the cheapest bedding but unsuitable for some horses (respiratory problems, horses that eat their bed); rubber matting costs more up front and can reduce the bedding needed.
The farrier
For the UK the BHS says most horses need the farrier every four to six weeks if shod and six to eight if unshod; other sources differ (see How often does a horse need the farrier). From the BHS price per visit (table below), our arithmetic (52 weeks divided by the interval) gives at least about £65–108 a month for a shod horse with a full set (about €75–125) and about £16–29 for an unshod one (about €20–35). The BHS and RSPCA advise discussing options with the farrier (front shoes only, barefoot, refitting shoes) and not skipping visits, even for an unshod horse.
We found no Slovenian public farrier list. One Croatian farrier service's public list, valid from 1 January 2023 and excluding VAT, gives (viewed 29 September 2026) routine trimming €30 (a trim after more than four months €60), shoeing all four feet with materials €80 and front shoes with a hind trim €55. It is one dated example, not today's price.
Vet, teeth and worms
The BHS counts vaccination against equine flu and tetanus as routine vet care; some yards ask for more, for example against equine herpesvirus or strangles (see Vaccination and preventive care for horses). The BHS says teeth should be checked at least once a year, more often in young and older horses; other sources differ (see Horse teeth). Worm control should follow risk: the BHS warns that blanket worming increases resistance. Taking the horse to a clinic instead of paying for a call-out can save the visit fee.
The University of Zagreb Faculty of Veterinary Medicine publishes its clinics' price list on its current price-list page (PDF dated 14 November 2024, viewed 29 September 2026; the list does not say whether VAT is included): examination of a horse level I €30 and level II €40 (the levels are not defined), dental correction in a horse €34 (material €25 listed separately), quantitative faecal egg count (FLOTAC) €10 and the vaccine Proteqflu+Te €18 (listed among medicines, so not necessarily the whole cost of a vaccination visit). The same list raises prices for examinations and other services by 50% between 6 pm and 8 am and after 11 am on Sundays and public holidays. This is a university clinic's list, not a benchmark for private practices: for pre-purchase vetting the BHS says costs vary by vet practice, location and the vet's experience. We found no price list on the horse clinic page of the Ljubljana veterinary faculty (viewed 29 September 2026). Find a vet who treats horses in the directory and ask for a written estimate.
UK figures for comparison
To compare the structure of costs, not to give Slovenian or Croatian amounts, we cite figures from the BHS page (reviewed 7 July 2026). The page cites the BETA 2023 National Equestrian Survey for livery, feed, bedding and the yearly total, and "2026 industry averages" for worm control; for farrier, dental and saddle-fitter prices it names no source (BHS 2026 in the table). All are averages that vary widely across the UK. We converted pounds at the European Central Bank reference rate of 28 September 2026 (€1 = £0.85785) and rounded euros to the nearest €5 (from €1,000 to the nearest €100; "over" amounts rounded down).
| In the UK | Amount | Source | About in € |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grass livery | £80–200 a month | BETA 2023 | €95–235 |
| DIY livery | £120–300 a month | BETA 2023 | €140–350 |
| Part or full livery | £400 to over £1,000 a month | BETA 2023 | €465 to over €1,100 |
| Feed (balancer or hard feed; hay not included) | £36–60 a month | BETA 2023 | €40–70 |
| Bedding | on average £45 a month | BETA 2023 | €50 |
| Worm control | £50–150 per horse a year | BHS 2026 | €60–175 |
| Farrier: trim, front shoes, full set | £30–40, £60–70, £90–100 or more a visit | BHS 2026 | €35–45, €70–80, €105–115 or more |
| Teeth check | £50–60 a visit | BHS 2026 | €60–70 |
| Saddle fitting | £40–100 a visit | BHS 2026 | €45–115 |
| Direct care of one horse, average | £5,350 a year, £446 a month (our arithmetic) | BETA 2023 | €6,200 a year, €520 a month |
Insurance
DEFRA says an owner should consider insuring a horse against unexpected health problems; for public liability cover see What you need before buying your first horse. A UK study (Wilson, Mair and Freeman, Equine Veterinary Journal, 2025) asked five insurers in January 2024 for quotes for a standard case (a 14-year-old Welsh Section D gelding 15.1 hh, that is 15 hands 1 inch, about 155 cm): monthly premiums were £42.76 to £97.23 and the maximum veterinary-fee cover £5,000–7,500 (converted in the hidden-costs table below).
We found no public premium tables for Slovenia or Croatia. Sava Insurance Company says on its page for sport and leisure horses that it adjusts premiums to use, age, breed, living conditions and health status; Croatia Insurance Company (Croatia osiguranje) says the monthly premium for animals is calculated separately for each species and that you get a price by requesting a quote. These are insurers' own pages, cited only for how premiums are set, not for prices.
Tack and repairs
The BHS counts a torn rug and tack that needs repairing among the unexpected costs, and advises checking saddle fit every six months because a horse's shape changes through the year; a UK saddle fitter costs £40–100 a visit (see the table).
Hidden costs: emergencies and a reserve
An emergency can bring a very large single bill. A UK study (Wilson et al., 2025; 18 hospitals, 248 colic cases) reported the 2023/24 costs in the table. Of 122 surgical cases, 111 (91%) had bills above £5,000 and 62 (50.8%) above £7,500, often more than the maximum vet-fee cover the study's insurers offered.
| UK hospitals and insurers, 2023/24 | Mean or median (range) | About in € |
|---|---|---|
| Colic: medical treatment (44 cases) | £2,379 (£683–13,762) | €2,800 (€795–16,000) |
| Colic: surgery (122 cases) | £7,905 (£3,023–20,343) | €9,200 (€3,500–23,700) |
| Colic: euthanasia without surgery (41 cases) | £1,200 (£500–4,389) | €1,400 (€585–5,100) |
| Maximum vet-fee cover (5 insurers) | £5,000–7,500 | €5,800–8,700 |
| Monthly premium, standard case (5 insurers) | £42.76–97.23 | €50–115 |
The study gives means (the euthanasia figure is a median) with a range; its authors list small case numbers and UK-only data as limitations; we found no data for Slovenia or Croatia. DEFRA warns that the full costs of euthanasia and carcase disposal are rarely covered by insurance. The BHS suggests that without insurance you consider a monthly savings pot, and that with insurance you check what the policy covers, since some treatments, such as colic surgery, may exceed policy limits.
Decide where emergency money comes from in advance. Without insurance, the BHS emergency plan asks what you can realistically afford, whether your funds cover treatment, rehabilitation and complications, and how quickly you can reach them. If a horse shows signs of illness, call a vet; daily care is in How to care for a horse.
Cutting costs without cutting welfare
The BHS warns of false economies: skipping farrier visits, dental checks, saddle fitting or vaccination can harm the horse and lead to bigger bills. World Horse Welfare lists vet care, vaccination, regular hoof care, risk-based parasite control and dental checks as things not to skimp on. Owners on a yard can order bedding, feed or hay together, split delivery charges and book shared vet and farrier appointments (BHS); the RSPCA says suppliers often give lower prices on larger deliveries and advises sharing transport.
Choosing a set-up and building a budget
DEFRA advises a prospective owner to budget from their own circumstances and work out whether ongoing costs are affordable and how many horses, if any, they can afford.
| Your situation | Option | Check first |
|---|---|---|
| You can care for the horse every day | DIY livery | who cares when you cannot (BHS: extra cost) |
| You can come for part of the day | part livery | whether staff work seven days a week |
| You cannot get to the yard daily | full livery (higher price) | what is included and what costs extra |
| The horse can live out and you want a lower bill | grass livery | water, shelter, fencing, drainage, year-round access |
| Little time to ride | working livery: a riding school uses the horse in lessons for a lower fee | written agreement, the school's insurance; you may not always ride |
| You want to split the cost | a sharer: another rider contributes to costs and helps with care | written agreement, the sharer's public liability cover |
A budget in five steps:
- Ask two or three yards for a written price stating whether VAT is included and a list of extras.
- Ask the farrier and vet for the price and frequency of visits for your horse.
- Get at least one insurance quote and read the exclusions.
- Add a monthly amount for the reserve and for higher winter costs.
- Compare the total with what you can pay long term; if it does not fit, consider a cheaper set-up or sharing.
Frequently asked questions
What does full livery mean?
According to the BHS, with full livery the yard staff do the daily work, such as feeding, mucking out and turnout, and exercise may be included. The BHS advises checking that staff also work at weekends and asking what is included and what costs extra.
Do I need insurance for a horse?
DEFRA's code of practice (2017) says an owner should consider insurance against unexpected health problems and have suitable public liability cover; the BHS strongly advises public liability cover, even for a retired or companion horse. These sources do not say whether insurance is compulsory where you live; ask the yard and an insurer, and read the exclusions.
How much more does a horse cost in winter than in summer?
We found no figure for Slovenia or Croatia. Two UK sources (World Horse Welfare, RSPCA) say care costs rise in winter, so ask the yard in writing whether hay and bedding stay in the price through winter and when the price can change.
Can I share the cost of a horse with another rider?
Yes, according to the BHS a sharer can contribute to costs and help with care. The BHS advises a clear written agreement and checking that the sharer has public liability insurance; World Horse Welfare adds that the arrangement should put the horse's welfare, consistent management and the suitability of riders first.
This article is general advice and does not replace a visit to the vet. If your animal is ill, injured or getting worse, talk to a vet as soon as you can.
Related to this article
Read next
Every pet has a story. ❤️
Save the important events, changes, observations and measurements in your pet’s journal — its history is always at hand.
Sources and photos
- Horse Cost Guide UK: How much does it cost to own a horse? — British Horse Society (BHS) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Reducing costs without compromising welfare — British Horse Society (BHS) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Where to keep your horse — British Horse Society (BHS) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Horse emergencies and emergency care planning — British Horse Society (BHS) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Code of practice for the welfare of horses, ponies, donkeys and their hybrids — DEFRA (UK Government) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Cutting the costs of horse care — World Horse Welfare (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Caring for horses and ponies — RSPCA (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Cost of referral treatment for colic in the United Kingdom: what has changed in the last 5 years? — Equine Veterinary Journal (F. E. Wilson, T. S. Mair, S. L. Freeman) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Price list of the clinics and institutes of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (PDF dated 14 November 2024) — University of Zagreb Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Insurance of sport and leisure horses — Sava Insurance Company (insurer page) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Insurance of domestic animals — Croatia Insurance Company (insurer page) (accessed: 29.09.2026)
- Euro foreign exchange reference rate: pound sterling, 28 September 2026 — European Central Bank (accessed: 29.09.2026)
Photos
- Author: W.carter · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source: Wikimedia Commons
- Author: Horseexperts · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source: Wikimedia Commons
- Author: Terry Jacombs · CC BY-SA 2.0 · source: Wikimedia Commons